whswhs (whswhs) wrote in prometheuslfs,

now it can be told

The LFS has picked its finalists for the 2009 Hall of Fame Award. In chronological order, they're as follows:

Rudyard Kipling, "As Easy as A.B.C."
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings
T. H. White, The Once and Future King, including The Book of Merlyn
Lois McMaster Bujold, Falling Free
Donald Kingsbury, Courtship Rite
John C. Wright, The Golden Age

As committee chair, I got to count the votes. This was quite a process: we use ranked choices (also known as instant runoff or Australian ballot), with the proviso that a tie leads to a split in which each of the lowest ranked nominees is eliminated, the count is carried on from there, and if both counts lead to the same final winner, that's declared to have won; if not, the two different winners are tied. Well, we ended up with five nominees having one initial vote! So that meant a five-way split, at the end of which, Tolkien had won the counts, except the ones where he was the initial nominee who was eliminated, in which Kipling won instead. So then I redid the whole process with those two removed, and ended up with a four-way tie. We're supposed to produce a list of five nominees, but rather than eliminate one arbitrarily, we recommended six instead.

I'm thinking about changing from ranked choices to proportional voting with reassignment next year. A test run suggests that it would be more complex than ranked choices, but I think the outcome is fairer.

If you're an LFS member, now you can start reading the finalists early. If you're not a member, but you'd be interested in reading these and helping pick the next award winner, you can still join: see http://www.lfs.org/ for information.
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic